Skip to main content

THE BENEDICT CENTRE LIBRARY: Digital Resources

Welcome to the LHC Benedict Centre Library: Your Place

Digital Resources

Office 365 Tools

Sway

Sway is a visual presentation tool found in Office 365.  It allows for the addition of text, images, links, audio and YouTube video.  You can set your own format or allow the software to select one for you. See the video below for more information or click here to start exploring.

PowerPoint and Office Mix

PowerPoint is a powerful presentation tool that will allow for the addition of text, images, links, audio, video, screen casting and animation.  When complete it can be exported as a video.  To increase interactivity you can add quizzes and polls and export it to Office Mix.  See the presentation below on creating interactive Word and PowerPoint presentations or click here to go to the Office Mix site.

 

OneNote

OneNote is an electronic notebook that can be utilised to create and store handwritten notes, images, audio files, video files, internet links and text.  This file, including handwriting, is searchable and easily organised while providing opportunities to share and collaborate.

Click here to find out more about what you can do with OneNote.

Prezi

An on-line presentation tool which provides you with the ability to zoom in to show detail and zoom out to see the big picture.  See the video below for more information or click here to start making your own.

Storybird

 Artwork has been curated from illustrators and animators around the world and can be used to spark individual ideas and inspiration for story writing. See the video for more detail or click here to start your own story.

ClassTools.net

ClassTools contains a wide variety of tools for enhancing lessons and presentations.  These range from creating your own arcade games to Fakebook profiles or a QR code treasure hunt.  There are also a number of templates and graphic organisers available.  Click here to explore all the possibilities.

Infographics - Easel.ly

Infographics are a way of presenting complex data and information in an easy to visualise format. Considerable planning goes into constructing an infographic including the data included, the format to be used and the design of the chart.

Read about the Simple Design Rules to Create Infographics, watch the video below for more information or explore making your own infographic on Easel.ly.

Inspiration

Inspiration is mind mapping software which is installed on staff and student devices.  It allows you to seamlessly switch between a mind map and an outline.  Add images, notes, videos and audio to complement your notes.  See the video below for more information.

Adobe Spark

Adobe Spark allows for the creation of a Post, a Page or a Video.  Very simple to use and visually appealing.  See the video below for more information.

Video - MovieMaker or Premiere Pro

Movie Maker will allow you to easily create movies with titles, credits, images ,audio and video.  Click here to see a guide on making a movie in MovieMaker. Premiere Pro will also allow you to create video but has more professional capabilities to create a polished finish.  Check out the quick how to video on ClickView to get you started with Premiere Pro.

Office 365 Tools

Collaboration is easy in all Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Forms, Sway and OneNote documents stored in Office 365, just click on the share button and select collaborators and permissions. No need to worry about incorrect versions as everyone is working on the same version in real time. See more below.

OneNote Class Notebook

If using the OneNote Class Notebook there is an in-built Collaboration section that allows read and write access to all those the Notebook is shared with with no extra preparation.  It is ready to go for the class brainstorm, feedback, experimental results or responses to stimulus.

Click here to find out more about what you can do with OneNote.

Google for Education
 

Access to your Google account is now simple as you just use your Office 365 details.  As this is a web based platform all items created are stored in the cloud and it is easy to share and collaborate.  The options offered are very similar to the ones in Office 365, such as Docs and Sheets instead of Word and Excel, but the Google version of Forms and Sites still have much more to offer. Google Forms allows for the addition of images and YouTube clips as well as sectioning a longer document.  Google Sites is undergoing updates which will make creating websites simple in the very near future.

Padlet

Padlet is an online collaboration tool which is much like a virtual notice board.  Once the page is created, a link is shared and contributors can post text, images, audio, video or documents which can be either uploaded from their device or linked to an online source.  Excellent for brainstorming, feedback or generating stimulus ideas to name but a few. See the video below for more information.

Blogger

Blogging is a way of communicating your understanding or thoughts about a topic to a larger audience.  Blogger is a platform that is easy to use and linked to your Google account. Instructions on how to create a blog in Blogger can be found here.

Databases

The school has access to a large number of databases to assist with research and access to content.

These include:

  • e-chalk
  • BrainPop
  • Britannica Schools
  • Gale History or Science in Context
  • ClickView
  • ANZRC
  • Library Webs
  • many more

Click here to find out more about the variety of databases that exist.

Loading

Digital Tools for Audio and Text Management

Read and Write (Gold)

Read and Write is school owned software that has a variety of tools to make work easier.  It will read text from almost any page for you.  It can also be used to read words as you type.  There are in-built tutorials for all possibilities.  See the Laptop Centre to have the software loaded.

Databases

Databases often have a speaker icon which will read the text on the page out loud when clicked.  This usually coincides with highlighting of the text being read.

 

Speak-It

Speak-It is an add-on for the Google Chrome browser.  It will read selected text on the page for you.  Click here for a tutorial.

OneNote - Learning Tools Add-In

An add-in called Learning Tools can be used in OneNote to read the text that is on a given page.  It can also highlight nouns, verbs, adjectives and syllables.  The add-in can be downloaded from here.

OneNote - Speech to Text Learning Tools Add-In

An add-in called Learning Tools can be used in OneNote to type as you talk.  The add-in can be downloaded from here.

Google Docs - Voice Typing

There is a function in a Google document that will allow speech-to-text.  Just start a new document and select the Tools tab and then Voice Typing.  See the tutorial below for more information or this SmartBrief article for tips and tricks.

Mobile Device - Speech-to-Text

Most mobile devices have the ability to convert speech to text.  This can easily be done in notes and using the microphone icon to the left of the space bar on the keyboard to transfer your speech to text.

 

 

OneNote

OneNote has an add audio option in the insert tab which will create an audio file on the OneNote page.  This file can be saved separately if required.

PowerPoint

Direct record or upload an audio file in PowerPoint to add narration to a slideshow.  The audio file can be saved elsewhere.

Mobile Device

Most mobile devices have the ability to record an audio file or voice memo.  Check the settings on your device to see how you can use yours to make note taking easy.

Tips for working digitally

Research shows that it is easiest to use the following fonts when working on a digital document.

  • Helvetica
  • ​Courier
  • Arial
  • Verdana
  • ​Computer Modern Unicode

Ensure the  screen has been maximised and zoomed to a comfortable size.  When working on a web page Ctrl+ will increase the screen and Ctrl- will decrease it.

Read and Write (Gold)

Read and Write is school owned software that has a variety of tools to make work easier.

  • Hear web pages and documents read aloud to improve reading comprehension, with choice of natural voices

  • Understand unfamiliar words with text and picture dictionaries

  • Develop writing skills with word prediction

  • Support independent student research with valuable study skills tools

 There are in-built tutorials for all possibilities.  See the Laptop Centre to have the software loaded.

Loading