Email [email protected] if you are having access problems.
eBook: The illustrated Bible : story by story
Focusing on archaeological discoveries as well as historical and religious documentation, this guide provides profiles of key figures and describes every major covenant, prophecy, miracle, and parable in the Bible.
eBook: Understanding Christianity
Understanding Christianity covers the history of Christianity and how the religion has evolved and expanded. Readers learn about its branches, church services, and world contributions. This title also discusses challenges that have arisen as Christians interact with people of other faiths. Features include a glossary, references, websites, source notes, and an index.
eBook: Religions around the World
Contains articles examining religions originating from the Middle East, South Asia, and East Asia as well as beliefs in the spirit world and a higher power.
eBook: Britannica Encyclopedia of World Religions
A guide to the religions of the world and to the concepts, movements, people, and events that have shaped them. It includes features such as: entries on religious movements and concepts, historical and legendary figures, divinities, religious sites and ceremonies; images that show sacred places, vestments, rituals, objects, and texts; and more.
eBook: Understanding Islam
Understanding Islam covers the history of Islam and explores how the religion has evolved and expanded. Readers learn about worship practices, women's roles, and the world contributions Muslims have made. This title also discusses the discrimination Muslims have faced in the West, and explores controversies surrounding terrorism.
eBook: Islam
Discover the faith, culture, and history that have shaped the modern Islamic world. This guide gives a detailed look at the Qur'an and The Five Pillars of Islam and offers a list of "fascinating facts" along with a comprehensive timeline.
eBook: Understanding Judaism
Understanding Judaism covers the history of Judaism and explores how the religion has evolved and expanded.
eBook: Catholicism
Covers everything from the foundational tenets and creeds, the visible signs of Catholicism, and an explanation of specific prayers. An exploration of the Mass, holy days, key people and places, art, literature, and more are also covered.
eBook: The Poverty Problem
This book traces the history and understanding of poverty, explores the realities of those living in poverty around the world, and examines innovations designed to eliminate extreme poverty on a global level. Helpful graphics, photographs, and simple language make this important issue easier to understand for young learners.
eBook: Coping with Life in Homeless Shelters
This revealing volume details the skills that can help teens cope with living in a homeless shelter and outlines the ways and tools for moving beyond it.
eBook: Teens and Anxiety
Teens and Anxiety explores the physical and mental effects of anxiety, how anxiety impacts society, and how to treat anxiety through therapy and other measures.
eBook: Teens Talk about Anxiety and Depression
In real teens' voices, this engaging book offers comfort and advice for young people dealing with their own mental health issues or those of a loved one. A compilation of true stories by young adults facing the challenges of anxiety and depression, the book features compelling first-person accounts of panic attacks, suicidal depression, and self-harm, among other topics. Each contributor brings a unique perspective to the discussion of mental illness, and the relatable tone helps readers connect with an issue of great relevance to their own lives.
eBook: Human Rights
Readers will evaluate whether certain countries or cultures are falling short on human rights, including the European Unions, Bangladesh, Tibet, Israel, America, and China. They will read about whether certain policies are effective or failing in places like Britain, Myanmar, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, and Korea. Treatment of women and children is also explored in places such as Haiti and Saudi Arabia.
eBook: Human Rights in Focus: Refugees
Many millions of people flee their homes, desperate to escape extreme poverty and violence, in hopes of finding refuge in other countries. Both enroute to their destinations and sometimes even once they arrive, these refugees often endure conditions that defy even the loosest interpretation of human rights. The extreme challenges refugees face and efforts to help them are discussed.
eBook: Bullying
Readers will evaluate whether bullying is a growing problem, whether parents should pay the price for having children who bully others, and whether cyberbullying is an epidemic. Disparate views of complex issues are encapsulated into a question-and-response format. Important facts, perfect for report writing, are dispersed throughout in eye-catching boxed insets.
eBook: Coping with Cyberbullying
This book explores the alienation and rejection many youth experience from cyberbullying, a form of abuse that takes many forms and is often accompanied by social exclusion, physical abuse, and other perils. It helps readers identify cyberbullying, cope with its negative effects, regain and strengthen self-esteem, and seek help from and establish connection with others to overcome cyberbullying around them.
